banniere
Site map fr

Valid XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS2

Reed-organs

Reed-organs represent a very small part of our activity. Every church has got its old reed-organ forgotten in a corner. Sadly, a few of them are in a good condition. A lot have been sold, or worse, destoyed. Others are rotting, because of moisture and worms.

Some associations are trying to make them revive. The most beautiful and rare copies may be promoted "Historical Monument".

The similarities with organs are not much : the reed-organ is an instrument built, in most cases, in large quantities. It is a wind instrument with a valves system mechanism.

The restoration of a reed-organ is very expensive, it needs a long time to repair the reservoir bellows, the compensated bellows and sometimes the collecting box. So, this kind of work is dedicated to instruments having interesting technical caracteristics or to historical instruments.

Here we will present (soon) two instruments we restored. The first one is a private instrument, which belongs to a famous composer. Made by Mustel, with two keyboards (one is a celesta), this is an exceptional instrument both on the technical side and the historical side. The second one is a giraffe reed-organ from the first half of the XIXth century, located in the church of Savigny-sur-Véron.

© Manufacture Bretonne d'Orgues. All rights reserved.

banniere
Plan du site en

Valid XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS2

Harmoniums

Les harmoniums représentent une toute petite partie de notre activité. Chaque paroisse possède son vieil harmonium relégué dans un coin de l’église ou du presbytère. Malheureusement, bien peu sont encore en état. Beaucoup ont été vendus, donnés ou, pire, détruits; d’autres s’effondrent sous l’action conjointe de l’humidité et des vers à bois.

Quelques associations ou amoureux de beaux ouvrages tentent de les faire revivre. Les plus beaux et plus rares exemplaires peuvent être classés «Monuments Historiques».

Les similitudes avec l’orgue sont limitées : l’harmonium est un instrument construit, la plupart du temps, en série; c’est un instrument à vent avec un système mécanique à soupapes. Parfois de faux décors d’orgue à tuyaux ont été adjoints avec des tuyaux de façade.

La remise en état d’un harmonium est très coûteuse, il faut des heures de travail pour remettre en peau les soufflets et réservoirs, et parfois les gosiers qui les relient. Les travaux de restauration sont donc réservés à des instruments qui ont des caractéristiques techniques ou historiques exceptionnelles.

Nous vous présentons ici (à venir) deux instruments restaurés. Le premier est un harmonium privé d’un célèbre compositeur. De marque Mustel avec deux claviers dont un célesta, c’est un instrument exceptionnel à la fois sur le plan technique et historique. Le second est un harmonium girafe de la première moitié du XIXème siècle qui se trouve dans l’église de Savigny-sur-Véron.

© Manufacture Bretonne d'Orgues. Tous droits réservés.